GM Advice

Blarghy

So, I've got a few game ideas I may try running here in the future.  I've had some experience in the past, but never with M&M.  I've read the Gamemastering chapter in the core book, and it's fairly helpful.  Even so, I wonder how experienced GMs here craft their adventures, in particular encounters, with respect to the rules and enemies. 

Does anybody have any rules of thumb they follow (for example, the 50/50 rule suggested in the core book, which I think is good advice)?  Do you just try to match up modifiers for the villains to the heroes?  What about when you've got a whole team of players; how much stronger do you typically make a solo villain?  What about a villain with minions, versus one or multiple heroes?  And so on.

Of course, there's the tradition of just faking it if things go bad.  You can always come up with a way to let the heroes bounce back, especially since the forums is nonlethal in general.  No matter how well you plan, the dice can always betray you anyway.  Even so, I'd ideally like to learn how to craft encounters and challenges well enough that they should probably unfold in a cool way that leaves everybody satisfied, instead of feeling like they only came through it by GM Fiat. 

What kinds of things do you wish someone had told you, instead of learning the hard way?