Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
quotemyname

High Tech Troubles [OOC]

Recommended Posts

This is the out of character thread for High Tech Troubles, a fight between The Reaver (quotemyname) and Geckoman (Ecalsneerg). Geckoman tries to stop The Reaver as he attempts to steal some high technology from one of the plants in Hanover.

These threads will be self run. Although as always, any GMs are welcome to visit this thread and offer any rules input they feel necessary.

Good Luck Ecalsneerg! :D

Share this post


Link to post

not by much though, lol.

initiative recap

The reaver [6] VPx1 (The reaver takes a free action to activate absorbtion(energy) Boost: Regeneration)

Geckoman [5] HPx1

Call your own HP/VP opportunities, the other player must agree, be reasonable: "that was cool, i think you should get an HP for that."

Share this post


Link to post

Actually, due to Luck I start off with 2 HP. Nobody can survive dressed like that without Luck :P

One issue though. Your roll indicates that Autofire would apply to both saves, but your sheet indicates Autofire was only paid for once (presumably for the Strike rather than the Drain), so the Drain DC wouldn't increase. Is that correct?

Share this post


Link to post

um... i thought autofire would apply to both, but if that is the case then SURE! have the autofire apply to the toughness dc rather than both that and fort.

though... i did run that DC block edit by the good doctor on the character update forum and he put it in there himself so i don't know whether it is wrong or not.

ill post on campaign discussion and see what turns up.

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1677

recap

reaver vpx1 abs(eng)regen

gecko hpx2

Share this post


Link to post

Ok, failed my Fort enough to be down 4 toughness, and had to re-roll my save, getting a 15. Are you using lethal or non-lethal damage with the energy blades?

Reaver 1 VP Abs(Eng)Regen

Gecko 1 HP, -4 Toughness, Bruised, (Injured?), Staggered, (Disabled?), Stunned, Prone on other side of street due to knockback

Share this post


Link to post

always non lethal

recap:

reaver 1 vp abs(eng)regen

gecko 1hp, -4 toughness, bruised, staggered, stunned, prone due to knockback

double move just to get to you cuz i am sloooooooooww.

i really have to invest in a base flight power... not just have it under abs.

Share this post


Link to post

Round #2

Reaver, 1 VP, Absorption (Energy, Regen)

Geckoman, 1 HP, -3 toughness, bruised, staggered, prone

The sheet should have Obscure as Independent, so it'll last 1 round before dropping to 10', then 2 more before stopping altogether. So while I'm at -4 defence for being prone, you have a 50% miss chance. :P

Share this post


Link to post

With the ship moving at 500 MPH tops, it moves about 1 mile a round. So, assuming he didn't leave it too far behind him, would two rounds sound fair to get here?

Share this post


Link to post

Round #4

Reaver, 1 VP, Absorption (Energy, Regen)

Geckoman, 0 HP, -5 toughness, bruised, stunned, staggered, prone, 1 round of obscure left, had to re-roll toughness

It actually took me until now to realise that being staggered doesn't actually bruise you any further, you're 'only' staggered and stunned if you fail the save by 10... I'd also have lost 8 points of Toughness, but only objects get to go below 0.

Share this post


Link to post

correction on that, objects can go to -10 toughness, people can go to -5

page 32 of the core book states that ability scores cannot be lowered to below 0, however traits based on abilities (i.e. toughness in this case) can be lowered to a minimum of -5.

also, not that it matters, but if you fail a toughness save by 10 you also get a bruised in addition to everything else. (but your as low as you can go right now.) also, you recover one point of tougness, every round as the drain effect fades away.

so factoring the additional -5 toughness on your roll you actually fail by 11 points, this puts you as you said at bruised (x2), staggered, stunned, prone.

so since nothing really changed, ill go ahead and make my post anyway. if i hit you once more you are out.

and your spaceship will show up at the end of the next round as the obscure fades, correct?

Share this post


Link to post

No, go look at the damage charts. '10 or more' has Staggered + Stunned beside it, no Bruised results.

And now I've been staggered twice and am actually unconscious... the ship arrives next round, but be warned if you steal it. You. Die.

Share this post


Link to post
Sign in to follow this  

×